Fall baking begins!

Over the past two weeks, I have gotten some (good-natured?) Minnesotan passive aggressive pressure for a new cupcake.  Believe me, if I could have stood to bake every single weekend all summer, I would have!  But it was too hot and I’d rather lay by the pool 🙂

So, with the arrival of fall colors and cooler temperatures, I broke out cinnamon and allspice and went to town.  And by town, I mean the grocery store early on a Sunday morning while still wearing Saturday’s makeup.  Since I was basically half asleep while mindlessly grabbing ingredients I had run out of (every type of sugar imaginable), I for sure had to go back to the store later to get things I’d forgotten about….like real food for me to eat.

The cupcake flavor of the week is an apple cinnamon cupcake with a salted caramel buttercream frosting.  Yum!  I got the recipe here and followed it pretty closely.   Now, they say these take 1.5 hours of prep time…I call shenanigans!  Are they baking with The Flash??  Maybe it took me so long because I kept getting distracted and taking breaks.  I didn’t use their recipe for the caramel sauce though….I tried, and failed.  So I found this blog post that gave more details that were helpful for a novice caramel maker like myself.  It turned out pretty well!  The left overs are sitting in my fridge….and it’s taking a lot of self-control not to eat a spoonful for breakfast.  I should be rewarded….with a spoon full of caramel for breakfast.

 

Leave a Reply

